:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Replenish Airbase Questions
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
au64

 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Likes received: 103

Posts: 3800
FLAGS




Post subject: Replenish Airbase Questions  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Here's the Replenish Airbase from the Akitsu Maru:

Replenish Airbase: Once per game, at the beginning of the Air Return phase, choose a friendly Aircraft that has been destroyed and roll a die. On a 4 or higher, return the chosen Aircraft to play, based on the Land Airbase

For reference: Replenish Aircraft: Once per game, at the beginning of the air return phase, choose a friendly Fighter, Dive Bomber or Torpedo Bomber that has been destroyed. Roll a die. On a 4 or higher, return the aircraft to play, based on this unit. (Your opponent doesn't lose the Victory Points)

So here are my three questions:

1) With Replenish Airbase, does the aircraft get a rearming counter since it is technically 'returning' to the LAB?

2) As opposed to Replenish Aircraft, Replenish Airbase does not specify that your opponent doesn't lose victory points, is this an 'understood' application to R.Airbase?

3) If you use R.Airbase to 'recover' an A6M2 Zero Kamikaze, does it get a rearming counter from uncertain arrival?
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 2:48 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
ticat1

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Likes received: 818

Posts: 10680
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I'd say that no, it doesn't get a rearming counter.  Replenish is essentially creating a new unit.  I'd treat it the same way you'd treat a plane that was assigned to the LAB In the Mission phase.

On page 11 of the rule book under How to Win it specifically says that you score points equal to the unit cost when you destroy that unit.  the SA refers to units that have been destroyed, so I'd say just from that that you don't ever lose points of anything is brought back unless a future SA says.

Going with my previous feeling that the rule would look at this as a new unit fresh to the conflict that yes, it would start under the effects of Uncertain Arrival
_________________

Qui Tangit Frangitur

To you, from failing hands we throw the torch; be yours to hold it high
           -John McCrae
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 3:58 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
mnnorthstars

 Keeper of the Leigh Light

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Likes received: 334

Posts: 12784
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
If you think about it from a real life perspective, the moment that the plane was destroyed another one got finished being unpacked from Akitsu Maru's hold.  So it's now ready to enter the game the same way that any other plane would enter the game.  Normally that means without a rearming counter but a Kamikaze starts with one.
_________________
Capt. Strange wrote:
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 5:11 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
LcdrSwizzle

_
 Club KM Uber Alles !

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Likes received: 345

Posts: 13698
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I believe mnn is correct on all 3.
_________________
Großadmiral Swizzle

Browncoat by fandom; Cossack by blood; American by birth; Virginian/Husband/Father by wife; Libertarian by choice; Human by race; Christian by grace.
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 5:38 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
au64

 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Likes received: 103

Posts: 3800
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
OK, since both Replenish Aircraft and Uncertain Arrival happen "at the beginning of the Air Return Phase"... can I roll for replenish and then immediately roll for arrival?
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 8:30 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
mnnorthstars

 Keeper of the Leigh Light

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Likes received: 334

Posts: 12784
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I'd think you get to decide the order in which you resolve things that are directed to happen simultaneously.  It's that way in HeroClix anyway.
_________________
Capt. Strange wrote:
PostWed Jan 25, 2017 8:36 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Heavygear

 

Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Likes received: 84

Posts: 6091
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
mnnorthstars wrote:
I'd think you get to decide the order in which you resolve things that are directed to happen simultaneously.  It's that way in HeroClix anyway.


Ah! You remember that clix rule too, I played it at Horrorclix
PostWed Feb 01, 2017 9:01 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Heavygear

 

Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Likes received: 84

Posts: 6091
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
ticat1 wrote:

On page 11 of the rule book under How to Win it specifically says that you score points equal to the unit cost when you destroy that unit.  the SA refers to units that have been destroyed, so I'd say just from that that you don't ever lose points of anything is brought back unless a future SA says.


Yes, I would have conccur with you on that point if resplenish aircraft SA hadn't stressed the no lose of VP part while stressing the unit was destroyed.

REPLENISH AIRCRAFT Once per game, at the beginning of the air return phase, choose a friendly Fighter, Dive Bomber or Torpedo Bomber that has been destroyed. Roll a die. On a 4 or higher, return the aircraft to play, based on this unit. (Your opponent doesn't lose the Victory Points)

If WotC did take the pain to write it, IMO it's because there is truly a ruling point on this (or you can also imagine a plus for dummies, lol).

Adding the part in bold would make the use clear for anybody

REPLENISH AIRBASE Once per game, at the beginning of the Air Return phase, choose a friendly Aircraft that has been destroyed and roll a die. On a 4 or higher, return the chosen Aircraft to play, based on the Land Airbase with a rearming counter (Your opponent doesn't lose the Victory Points).
PostWed Feb 01, 2017 9:14 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
ticat1

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Likes received: 818

Posts: 10680
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I don't think you need a rearming counter because it's not the same aircraft.  The one that got destroyed isn't getting revived, is getting replaced by something you have on hand.  

The Kamikaze is different because it starts out with a rearming counter so it should get one if it gets replenished
_________________

Qui Tangit Frangitur

To you, from failing hands we throw the torch; be yours to hold it high
           -John McCrae
PostWed Feb 01, 2017 10:19 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Heavygear

 

Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Likes received: 84

Posts: 6091
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
ticat1 wrote:
I don't think you need a rearming counter because it's not the same aircraft.  The one that got destroyed isn't getting revived, is getting replaced by something you have on hand.  

The Kamikaze is different because it starts out with a rearming counter so it should get one if it gets replenished


I have to heavily disagree here.

Gamewise, if you go that way, I can use Fw200 (or like) with missile twice in a row and my opponent get niks in matter of defense if he is with LB fighters that he has used to destroy the previous and has rearming counters on them... Too much overpowered and unbalanced.

The rearming counter on a new delivered plane could simply go as standard maintenance to make it operational for next mission (checks, fuel, armament loads...)
PostWed Feb 01, 2017 1:20 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
CommanderSam

 Fluctuat Nec Mergitur

MySingleNationClub

Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Likes received: 21

Posts: 997
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Heavygear wrote:
mnnorthstars wrote:
I'd think you get to decide the order in which you resolve things that are directed to happen simultaneously.  It's that way in HeroClix anyway.


Ah! You remember that clix rule too, I played it at Horrorclix


I think there is a point in a booklet in this direction.
Have to recheck.
PostFri Feb 03, 2017 9:14 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
war at sea 4

 FROM THE USN TO THE IJN SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIENDS


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Likes received: 146

Posts: 2468
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
In the early days reading the answers to question as ambiguous as this might seem;;
   The WOTC staff answered it pretty much verbatim;
Assuming; Intent; Thinking the SA was to powerful one way or the other was not part of the explanation.
  The SA tells you; any destroyed plane; what phase to return it; and where to return it.
It doesn't tell you; to or not to rearm it;
       So you don't
It say's nothing about points;
       So you play according to the rules of gaining points.
It doesn't tell you any specific turn; as to when the plane was lost or the turn you can chose to bring it back.
       Your choice.  
 A lot can happen if you chose to bring a plane back in turn 6
The most poorly written part of this SA is after the last comma;
  Based on the Land AirBase;
Its not telling you originally; just once [Based Past Tense]
Example; related to Replenish Aircraft;
     No one can say if you lose your Essex Air Complement on turn one and you happen to have a New and different Air Complement to replace it on turn 2 that by turn 4 if you lose another and decide to replace one the choice is not one of all that was once based on it.

 As for Kamikaze Uncertain Arrival; good example of Can't Trumps Can;; You have to roll;

PostThu Feb 16, 2017 4:02 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum