:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Concealment in Island Sector
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Please Register and Login to this forum to stop seeing this advertising.

 


Likes received:




Post subject:   (Liked by:)  Like this post
Back to top
hokiepastor

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 06 May 2013
Likes received: 81

Posts: 10867
FLAGS




Post subject: Concealment in Island Sector  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
So...

I read the rulebook in relation to a game I'm playing in the Olympics.  A MTB in an island sector, according the rulebook, does not have the ability to fire out of that sector, just as ships outside the sector cannot fire into that sector.

That made me think about installations.  They are in island sectors.  How are they able to fire out of it?  I mean, it makes sense that they can, but how does it level with the rulebook?
_________________


Signature courtesy of Brigman
PostSun Dec 07, 2014 9:30 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Shinnentai

 

Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Likes received: 416

Posts: 11688
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
From the Coastal Facility SA :

"If you deploy it in a coast or island sector, line of sight to and from this isn't blocked by that coast or island."

SAs take precedence over rules, per pg37 of the rulebook.
_________________
www.shinnentai.com


"...we shall prove ourselves once more able to defend our island home, to ride out the storm of war... if necessary for years, if necessary alone."
PostSun Dec 07, 2014 9:39 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
hokiepastor

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 06 May 2013
Likes received: 81

Posts: 10867
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Ah, I figured it was something like that.  I didn't have an installation card in front of me.  Like I said, not really questioning the rulebook, just curious.

Thanks for the help!
_________________


Signature courtesy of Brigman
PostSun Dec 07, 2014 9:49 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
SWO_Daddy

_
 COMINCH, Club USN

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Likes received: 195

Posts: 23223
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Thread necro, but I have a follow up question...

A friendly MTB is in the same island sector as an enemy Installation with Coast Facility.  Coastal Facility says line of sight to and from the Installation isn't blocked, but the MTB follows the rule book which says for all units in island sectors, line of sight to and from IS blocked.

The way I read this, LOS from the Installation isn't blocked, but LOS to the MTB is blocked.  But, I'm about to start a game with Brigs where this will almost certainly come up and we wanted to be sure.
_________________
I wish to have no connection with any ship that does not sail fast; for I intend to go in harm's way.
- Captain John Paul Jones

PostSun Jan 01, 2017 9:43 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
ticat1

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Likes received: 818

Posts: 10680
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
PG 32 of rule book under "units in an island's sector" last sentence:

A unit in an island sector can attack other units in the same sector if it has the appropriate attack type.
_________________

Qui Tangit Frangitur

To you, from failing hands we throw the torch; be yours to hold it high
           -John McCrae
PostSun Jan 01, 2017 9:52 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
SWO_Daddy

_
 COMINCH, Club USN

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Likes received: 195

Posts: 23223
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I'm blind...and was looking at the wrong rule book!


_________________
I wish to have no connection with any ship that does not sail fast; for I intend to go in harm's way.
- Captain John Paul Jones

PostSun Jan 01, 2017 10:06 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum