:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Coastal Deployment
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
firesdstny

 "Frozen Steel, Blazing Barrels"

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 23 Dec 2010
Likes received: 110

Posts: 26685
FLAGS




Post subject: Coastal Deployment  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
There is an ambiguity with the wording of CD.

Does the UNIT have to deploy on your side of the map, or does the ISLAND have to be on your side of the map?

I looked and found no official clarification for Coastal Deployment.  I believe the intent is that the UNIT would deploy on your side of the map, but that is my reading.  

What do you think?


(Interestingly - especially because i was on the team and didn't notice till just now - Ilmaren has the CD text from Vainomoinen rather than the revised text from Pantera.)

Quote:

COASTAL DEPLOYMENT: This unit may deploy adjacent to an island sector on your side of the map. If you do, this unit can't claim an objective on turn 1 or 2.
(Vainamoinen)

** COASTAL DEPLOYMENT (REVISED): This unit may deploy adjacent to a coast or island sector on your side of the map. If you do, this unit can't claim an objective on turn 1 or 2. (Pantera)

_________________


Light a man a fire and he will be warm for a night. áLight a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life!
PostThu Dec 01, 2016 6:13 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
LcdrSwizzle

_
 Club KM Uber Alles !

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Likes received: 345

Posts: 13698
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
From what I know of grammar, the ISLAND (or COAST) sector must be on your side of the map.
_________________
Gro▀admiral Swizzle

Browncoat by fandom; Cossack by blood; American by birth; Virginian/Husband/Father by wife; Libertarian by choice; Human by race; Christian by grace.
PostThu Dec 01, 2016 1:28 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CommanderSam

 Fluctuat Nec Mergitur

MySingleNationClub

Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Likes received: 21

Posts: 997
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
LcdrSwizzle wrote:
From what I know of grammar, the ISLAND (or COAST) sector must be on your side of the map.


Agreed.
Which proves unpractical when you play random map games because you cannot rely on having a coast/island to deploy it at all times Smile
PostFri Dec 02, 2016 11:06 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
http://aaminis.myfastforum.org/ab...&highlight=coastal+deployment

This came up in Team Neptune I remember.

Vital Cargo has a similar wording, and the official clarification is that both have to be on the other side of the map.

Quote:
VITAL CARGO 6: At the end of a turn, if this unit is adjacent to an island on your opponent's side of the map, you may remove it from the game and score 6 victory points. You can only remove one unit with Vital Cargo from the game per turn.


Quote:
Vital Cargo: To satisfy the conditions of Vital Cargo, the ship and the island must be "on your opponent's side of the map." That excludes the neutral row of sectors across the middle.
Source: http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1024855


Same with Guard Ship (which is even more alike).

Quote:
GUARD SHIP: This unit may deploy in any sector adjacent to a coast or island on your side of the map. If deployed this way, this unit can't move until it has been attacked.


Clarification:

Quote:
Guard Ship: If the unit is set up outside your ship deployment area, it must still be in your submarine deployment area.
http://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/War_at_Sea_Clarifications.pdf


So, for consistency, I would say both the island and the unit deployed have to be on your side of the map.


_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostThu Dec 08, 2016 9:00 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum