:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Sea Basing (A6M2N Rufe, etc)
Page Previous  1, 2  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Please Register and Login to this forum to stop seeing this advertising.

 


Likes received:




Post subject:   (Liked by:)  Like this post
Back to top
weedsrock2

 
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Likes received: 909

Posts: 36854
FLAGS




Post subject:  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Brigman wrote:
I knew I'd read something somewhere... found it.  This was the 2011 official Rules Clarifications document:

Quote:
Unit Clarifications
A6M2-N "Rufe": These units must observe stacking limits when returning to base (four aircraft squadrons per sector). If there are no coast or island sectors on your side of the map, then this unit uses any sector in your Ship Deployment Area as its base. Rufes must be placed during the Air Mission Phase; they cannot be sent to the land airbase or remain at their base (but can be placed "in the air" above an island base).


And that is the definitive answer. Thanks Brigs.

But note also that the SA definitely needed a clarification.
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 7:11 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
LcdrSwizzle

_
 Club KM Uber Alles !

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Likes received: 345

Posts: 13698
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
weedsrock2 wrote:
Brigman wrote:
I knew I'd read something somewhere... found it.  This was the 2011 official Rules Clarifications document:

Quote:
Unit Clarifications
A6M2-N "Rufe": These units must observe stacking limits when returning to base (four aircraft squadrons per sector). If there are no coast or island sectors on your side of the map, then this unit uses any sector in your Ship Deployment Area as its base. Rufes must be placed during the Air Mission Phase; they cannot be sent to the land airbase or remain at their base (but can be placed "in the air" above an island base).


And that is the definitive answer. Thanks Brigs.

But note also that the SA definitely needed a clarification.


Gotta stash this somewhere so I can find it again!
_________________
Großadmiral Swizzle

Browncoat by fandom; Cossack by blood; American by birth; Virginian/Husband/Father by wife; Libertarian by choice; Human by race; Christian by grace.
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 7:27 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Weird. Thanks, Brigman!
_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 10:12 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
But if they are "in the air" above the island, does that mean they can be attacked? Ie can they never not be vulnerable?
_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 10:14 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
weedsrock2

 
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Likes received: 909

Posts: 36854
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Solomiranthius wrote:
But if they are "in the air" above the island, does that mean they can be attacked? Ie can they never not be vulnerable?


I think they can definitely be attacked. It doesn't look to me like there is a way to keep them out of harms way.
_________________

The IJN Carrier Liberation Force - "Because We Care"
Join the IJNCVLF. Service Guarantees Citizenship!
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 10:42 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Vetnor

 Find a crew. Find a job. Keep on flying.

MySingleNationClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Likes received: 91

Posts: 2369
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
weedsrock2 wrote:
ticat1 wrote:
weedsrock2 wrote:
I just don't agree. Maybe I have been playing the game wrong for eight years, but what you guys are saying doesn't make any sense to me.

First, the rulebook says "completed all of their air missions", not aircraft. If I don't fly out an aircraft from the land base I have simply chosen to not give it an Air Mission. Only aircraft on carriers are forced to be assigned an air mission. Not aircraft from the land base.

For example, when I only have a couple of fighters and capital ships remaining in my fleet, and my opponent is the same I just leave my aircraft on the base. There is no point in deploying them. I know the St. Louis club plays the same way. We just say "I'm done with aircraft" or "I'm not using my aircraft this turn" and the opponent can keep deploying aircraft or stop as he wishes.

Edited to add: This is also a very significant tactical move because you can leave your aircraft on the land base and not get a rearming token. If your opponent uses his aircraft he will get rearming tokens the next turn when your aircraft will be clear. If you don't assign your aircraft an air mission then your opponent has to decide what he is going to do tactically at that point.


This is how the rule plays out 100% but when you say you're leaving the rest on the airbase, you're technically assigning them to the land air base as their mission


Okay, that makes sense.  Thank you. And Solo!


(removed)
_________________

Command your fleet to victory.
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 11:04 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Vetnor--enough.
_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 11:17 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Vetnor

 Find a crew. Find a job. Keep on flying.

MySingleNationClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Likes received: 91

Posts: 2369
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Solomiranthius wrote:
Vetnor--enough.
An apology would be nice since he was wrong.
_________________

Command your fleet to victory.
PostTue Feb 09, 2016 11:35 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
We were all wrong about the Rufe. Whatever beef you two apparently have needs not come out here.
_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostWed Feb 10, 2016 12:06 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Brigman

 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Likes received: 759

Posts: 42738
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
If I'd known the answer (or where to find it), I wouldn't have bugged ya'll with a query.  

Sorry if this drug up ill will or hurt feelings for "Team" projects.  I just wanted an answer (which I later found myself).  Embarassed
_________________

Member, Club IJN - Commander of Soviet Forces, CFS
PostWed Feb 10, 2016 1:33 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Vetnor

 Find a crew. Find a job. Keep on flying.

MySingleNationClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Likes received: 91

Posts: 2369
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Don't worry Brigs you didn't do anything wrong.
_________________

Command your fleet to victory.
PostWed Feb 10, 2016 7:13 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
war at sea 4

 FROM THE USN TO THE IJN SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIENDS


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Likes received: 146

Posts: 2468
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I think the intent of the rule for not assignning an air unit is important;
    Initiative placement winners cannot lose it to skipped assignments.
  Nothing in the rules say you have to assign carrier air units before land based so if you unassigned a land air unit first all carrier air units now can not be assigned;; they as the rule states are assigned to the carriers sector not the carrier and friendly non carrier based stacking applies.
So I would think clarifaction or not a unit that does not have to rearm has to at least be assigned to the sector it is based in.
PostMon Feb 15, 2016 5:33 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
jimiski

 

Joined: 22 Sep 2012
Likes received: 13

Posts: 187
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I dont think you should be forced to send your aircraft out at night if you dont want to suffer the recovery roll -also making your opponent suffer for for not placing his carrier aircraft by sinking his carrier and planes . This rule should be revised.
_________________
"We did not intend to fight enemy warships...but we took up the fight. The crew have behaved magnificently.  We shall win or die." -- Admiral  Lutjens - 25th May 1941
PostMon Feb 15, 2016 12:46 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Brigman

 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Likes received: 759

Posts: 42738
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Planes with Sea Basing don't need to make recovery rolls.


_________________

Member, Club IJN - Commander of Soviet Forces, CFS
PostMon Feb 15, 2016 4:01 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page Previous  1, 2



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum