:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
WAS FAQ - Clarification Starts Here
Page Previous  1, 2  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cealigh the MadScot

 I AM the Mad Scot! None are my equal! Many are my betters!


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Likes received: 5

Posts: 1712
FLAGS




Post subject:  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
swarbs wrote:
Escort only requires that it be in the same sector as the bomber for that bomber to get the bonus.  So yes, it doesn't really matter what the fighter does in the air attack phase, it can attack a fighter a bomber whatever, and still the escort works.

Ok I figured that since "Escort" is a passive SA for the fighter since it gives it's bonus to another unit.  That makes sense.  
I have a fellow player who insists that that is too powerful for the fighters to be able to provide "escort" SA and use that units direct SA also.
I disagree since the fighter's role is...  Attack other aircraft!  Hello?
_________________
Make no mistake! We are all going to die today! But BY GOD, we will take as many of those Nip Son's of Bitches with us when we do! Now get to work killin' these Bastards!"  
PostTue May 12, 2009 11:16 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
swarbs

 Nothing but Rum, Sodomy, and the Lash.


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Likes received: 3

Posts: 10199
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Yeah, that's the problem with applying logic to the game.  Sure, it makes sense that a squadron can't shoot down enemy bombers at the same time as escorting friendly bombers.  But you've got to instead just go with a strict reading of each SA.
_________________
PostWed May 13, 2009 12:30 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
jfkziegler

 Forum Administrator


Joined: 10 Jan 2008
Likes received: 13

Posts: 15353
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
In truth, though, most of the time when an escort fighter gets to engage in combat, it's engaging enemy fighters, which actually does make sense.
_________________
PostWed May 13, 2009 1:31 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
swarbs

 Nothing but Rum, Sodomy, and the Lash.


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Likes received: 3

Posts: 10199
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I unstickied the other rules sticky that had some similar links to this one.  The main benefit of the other one was that it had a post that included the entire contents of the Clarifications and Update document.  Should I add that text here, or is a link to it good enough?
_________________
PostWed Dec 09, 2009 2:31 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
NjCo

 "The most bloodthirsty amateur strategist the world has ever know." - Hitler on Winston Churchill, 1941


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Likes received:

Posts: 1609
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Excellent work on the clarifications! Thanks very much. It's great that we have these compiled in one place.
_________________
Click here for my AAM/WAS trade list.
Trade list updated: 6/10/2012

+109 on the Good Trader List
PostSat Jan 30, 2010 7:19 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
cwfgamecast

 Stat Card Digitizer


Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Likes received:

Posts: 885
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
And now we have them compiled in the 2010 Starter's rulebook.  Yay!
_________________


Stat Cards http://wargamingforums.com

WAS
Set 1: 64/64 - 252pcs
TF: 60/60 - 260pcs
FS: 40/40 - 213pcs
2010: 8/8 - 16pcs
CZ: 40/40 - 98pcs
V: 39/39 70pcs
PostSun Mar 28, 2010 7:55 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ZENO001

 

Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Likes received:

Posts: 36
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Where can I find the rules for ASW threat and the exstended bourd rules?
PostSun Feb 20, 2011 3:23 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jfkziegler

 Forum Administrator


Joined: 10 Jan 2008
Likes received: 13

Posts: 15353
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
They should be in the New Rulebook that comes with the 2010 starter.
_________________
PostSun Feb 20, 2011 3:41 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
ZENO001

 

Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Likes received:

Posts: 36
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I had the book ,but lent it to a freind. Is it online anywhere?
PostMon Feb 21, 2011 12:31 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Greyh Seer

 Muahahaha!


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Likes received: 2

Posts: 3634
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
ZENO001 wrote:
I had the book ,but lent it to a freind. Is it online anywhere?


The old one is, but not the new one Sad
_________________
-Greyh

Trade List:Greyh's WAS Trade List
+13 On AH Trade Boards
+16 On aaminis Trade Boards
PostMon Feb 21, 2011 12:37 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Tricki Vic BB71

 I am so excited about Canadians ruling the world. - John Diefenbaker

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 20 Mar 2011
Likes received: 71

Posts: 3577
FLAGS




Post subject: Re: WAS FAQ - Clarification Starts Here Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
swarbs wrote:


Capturing Objectives:
Objectives are captured at the end of each turn by a player who has a ship in an objective sector where no enemy ships are local or adjacent.  Submarines are unit type submarine, not ship.  Therefore, submarines do not keep a player from capturing an objective even if they are local or adjacent.  Ships with the No Sea Control SA cannot capture objectives.  However, because they are unit type ship, they do deny the capture of an objective which they are local or adjacent to.


So to my understanding if a sub is in the same sector as a ship. That ship still get the objective despite a the sub being thier. Embarassed
PostSun Apr 24, 2011 12:54 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Okie

 USS OKLAHOMA BB-37

MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Likes received: 2

Posts: 10865
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Yes thats right, unless the sub or something else sinks the ship before the end of the turn.  Very Happy  Rolling Eyes     Okie
_________________
PostSun Apr 24, 2011 1:27 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
cealigh the MadScot

 I AM the Mad Scot! None are my equal! Many are my betters!


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Likes received: 5

Posts: 1712
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
the download link provided for the advanced rulebook.  Isn't that the old rulebook?  I thought the "Torpedo" phase was replaced with "Submarine" phase.  And I'm not seeing any of the "revisions" in this book.  Crap, all I have are the old books.  I used to  have several copies of the new revised version and now I have none.  Must have given them all away without realizing it.  Does anyone have a copy that they can scan and upload as a pdf?
_________________
Make no mistake! We are all going to die today! But BY GOD, we will take as many of those Nip Son's of Bitches with us when we do! Now get to work killin' these Bastards!"  
PostSun Jan 25, 2015 7:45 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LcdrSwizzle

_
 Club KM Uber Alles !

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Likes received: 345

Posts: 13699
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
The 2010 Rulebook can be found at my website:

http://achievebalance.com/waratsea/2010Starter.pdf

In .pdf format.

Enjoy!
_________________
Großadmiral Swizzle

Browncoat by fandom; Cossack by blood; American by birth; Virginian/Husband/Father by wife; Libertarian by choice; Human by race; Christian by grace.
PostSun Jan 25, 2015 9:32 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cealigh the MadScot

 I AM the Mad Scot! None are my equal! Many are my betters!


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Likes received: 5

Posts: 1712
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
thanks swizzle
_________________
Make no mistake! We are all going to die today! But BY GOD, we will take as many of those Nip Son's of Bitches with us when we do! Now get to work killin' these Bastards!"  
PostSun Jan 25, 2015 10:32 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kaufschtick

 

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Likes received:

Posts: 3
FLAGS




Post subject: Long Distance Search Question Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Let's say you have an enemy sub within 4 spaces of one of your own ships, but the LOS is blocked by an island. You place an a/c in the sub's space with the intent of attacking the sub with ASW in the appropriate phase. However, when you place the a/c, do you, or don't you have to make a long distance search roll?

Your a/c is within 4 spaces of one of your own ships, but the space in question has its LOS blocked by an island.

We play that in this case a long distance search roll still needs to be made.

Thoughts?
PostSat Mar 21, 2015 3:21 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
ticat1

_
 
MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Likes received: 818

Posts: 10680
FLAGS




Post subject: Re: Long Distance Search Question Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
kaufschtick wrote:
Let's say you have an enemy sub within 4 spaces of one of your own ships, but the LOS is blocked by an island. You place an a/c in the sub's space with the intent of attacking the sub with ASW in the appropriate phase. However, when you place the a/c, do you, or don't you have to make a long distance search roll?

Your a/c is within 4 spaces of one of your own ships, but the space in question has its LOS blocked by an island.

We play that in this case a long distance search roll still needs to be made.

Thoughts?


It does say in the rule books that the spotting ships do indeed need line of sight, so you're playing it correctly.  Smile  

And Welcome!!
_________________

Qui Tangit Frangitur

To you, from failing hands we throw the torch; be yours to hold it high
           -John McCrae
PostSat Mar 21, 2015 3:45 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
kaufschtick

 

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Likes received:

Posts: 3
FLAGS




Post subject: Re: Long Distance Search Question Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
ticat1 wrote:
It does say in the rule books that the spotting ships do indeed need line of sight, so you're playing it correctly.  Smile  

And Welcome!!


Thank You kindly!

PostSat Mar 21, 2015 4:11 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page Previous  1, 2



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36855
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13699
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12786
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum