:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Torpedo Swarm
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Crissie

 

Joined: 09 Nov 2016
Likes received:

Posts: 9
FLAGS




Post subject: Torpedo Swarm  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Hello again, This time I was wondering about torpedo swarm. And more specifically, can it be boosted. Say for example that you have a unit with Torpedo swarm (letting you attack all units in the sector with an additional 1 die attack) and you also have something like Chikuma that boosts the attack. Could you boost the 1 die additional attack or is it limited like the jill's?
Thanks again, you guys are great!

Another thought just popped into my head, I you are playing a "Historical" battle where you are using only Kreigsmarine units, can you bring Ju-87 Picciatelli's for the Graf Zeppelin? can you bring them without the Graf Zeppelin as they are not ships?

Ok, my mind is everywhere today, an additional point - is flotilla leader (or similar effects) stackable. for example if you have three desroyers and two USS San Fransisco's, would you get 6 extra initiative points?
_________________
"No plan survives contact with the enemy."
-Erwin Rommel
PostMon Nov 14, 2016 5:24 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
CommanderSam

 Fluctuat Nec Mergitur

MySingleNationClub

Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Likes received: 21

Posts: 997
FLAGS




Post subject: Re: Torpedo Swarm Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
Crissie wrote:
Hello again, This time I was wondering about torpedo swarm. And more specifically, can it be boosted. Say for example that you have a unit with Torpedo swarm (letting you attack all units in the sector with an additional 1 die attack) and you also have something like Chikuma that boosts the attack. Could you boost the 1 die additional attack or is it limited like the jill's?
Thanks again, you guys are great!


Answer is in your question. Chikuma provides a boost against a single target. So all torpedo launches against that target would be boosted, even if they are the 1 die "splash" damage. I don't remember a restriction being posted regarding that.

Crissie wrote:
Another thought just popped into my head, I you are playing a "Historical" battle where you are using only Kreigsmarine units, can you bring Ju-87 Picciatelli's for the Graf Zeppelin? can you bring them without the Graf Zeppelin as they are not ships?


Not sure about that one regarding Axis historical limits. I would say that if the limits entitle you to bring in the picciatelli, you don't care to have the carrier or not. A unit will never go around a scenario. For instance, if you're playing strictly "nation pure" french, I don't think you could bring in Wildcat with Bearn. Too long since I last play to state that.

Crissie wrote:
Ok, my mind is everywhere today, an additional point - is flotilla leader (or similar effects) stackable. for example if you have three desroyers and two USS San Fransisco's, would you get 6 extra initiative points?


This one is easy, identical SA NEVER stack, you can only apply each SA once and for all.
PostMon Nov 14, 2016 11:43 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
firesdstny

 "Frozen Steel, Blazing Barrels"

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 23 Dec 2010
Likes received: 110

Posts: 26685
FLAGS




Post subject: Re: Torpedo Swarm Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
What Cmdr Sam says with a few additional points

CommanderSam wrote:
Crissie wrote:
Hello again, This time I was wondering about torpedo swarm. And more specifically, can it be boosted. Say for example that you have a unit with Torpedo swarm (letting you attack all units in the sector with an additional 1 die attack) and you also have something like Chikuma that boosts the attack. Could you boost the 1 die additional attack or is it limited like the jill's?
Thanks again, you guys are great!


Answer is in your question. Chikuma provides a boost against a single target. So all torpedo launches against that target would be boosted, even if they are the 1 die "splash" damage. I don't remember a restriction being posted regarding that.

Yes it can be boosted.  For example Suzuya attacks a sector with both Washington and Nevada in it.  Suzuya makes Washington the primary target and rolls 2 dice agianst it.  But Chikuma has spotted the Nevada.  Normally Suzuya would roll one die against Nevada, but because of Chikuma's spotting, it also rolls 2.  To make it even more fun, let's say that Suzuya is alone in a sector adjacent to Aoba.  Due to Aggressive Tactics, Suzuya gets one extra die on every torpedo attack.  So it would roll 3 dice (normal 2 + Aggressive Tactics 1 = 3) vs. Washington, and 3 dice against Nevada (Swarm 1 + Chik spot 1 + Aggressive Tactics 1 = 3).

Similarly SM.79 Sparviero attacks a sector that has both Washington and Nevada in it.  Normally the Sparv would roll 3 torps vs. Washington + 1 swarm vs. Nevada.  But if both were damaged previously, it would roll 3 torps +1 for Finish Him Off = 4 against Washington and 1 swarm + 1 Finish Him Off against Nevada.

Sam wrote:

Crissie wrote:
Another thought just popped into my head, I you are playing a "Historical" battle where you are using only Kreigsmarine units, can you bring Ju-87 Picciatelli's for the Graf Zeppelin? can you bring them without the Graf Zeppelin as they are not ships?


Not sure about that one regarding Axis historical limits. I would say that if the limits entitle you to bring in the picciatelli, you don't care to have the carrier or not. A unit will never go around a scenario. For instance, if you're playing strictly "nation pure" french, I don't think you could bring in Wildcat with Bearn. Too long since I last play to state that.

Depends on your houserule, but by default yes you could bring it.  Most houserule would probably let you bring it also since the Ju87R was a German plane even though the "in-game" carded version is Italian.

Sam wrote:

Crissie wrote:
Ok, my mind is everywhere today, an additional point - is flotilla leader (or similar effects) stackable. for example if you have three desroyers and two USS San Fransisco's, would you get 6 extra initiative points?

This one is easy, identical SA NEVER stack, you can only apply each SA once and for all.


What he said.  Different named init boosting SA's stack, but same name you only get the effect once.
A common play is to use SanFrancisco (Flag1 + Flotilla Leader) with Phelps (Destroyer Leader) and two other DD's.  When calculating Init for just that combo you get Flag1 + 3 for Flotilla Leader + 1 for Destroyer Leader for a +5.  There are other init bonuses as well which all stack as long as they are different named.
_________________


Light a man a fire and he will be warm for a night.  Light a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life!
PostTue Nov 15, 2016 12:21 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Crissie

 

Joined: 09 Nov 2016
Likes received:

Posts: 9
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
thanks guys!


_________________
"No plan survives contact with the enemy."
-Erwin Rommel
PostTue Nov 15, 2016 1:40 am
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum