:: :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Join! (free) :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
St. Laurent - Rescue Operations
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index -> WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Please Register and Login to this forum to stop seeing this advertising.

 


Likes received:




Post subject:   (Liked by:)  Like this post
Back to top
Solomiranthius

_
 
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 24 Apr 2011
Likes received: 766

Posts: 19325
FLAGS




Post subject: St. Laurent - Rescue Operations  Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
SA Text:

Quote:
RESCUE OPERATIONS: Once per game, instead of attacking during your Surface Attack step, this unit can perform a rescue mission if it's in a sector where a friendly Ship was destroyed. Score 3 victory points at the end of the turn.


U/C Clarification language:

Quote:
Rescue Operations: This ability can be used in any sector where a friendly ship was destroyed. It can be used if a local ship has a face-down Destroyed counter.


The way I read this is that Rescue Operations can be used in any sector where a friendly ship has been destroyed at any point during the game. E.g., on turn 1 a unit is destroyed in sector A3. On Turn 2, St. Laurent is in A3 and can use Rescue Operations during the Surface Attack Step instead of attacking. Or, e.g., on turn 1 during the air phase a unit is destroyed in sector A3, during the surface phase St. Laurent can use Rescue Operations even though the destroyed ship has been removed between air and surface phases.

The second sentence of the clarification is just clarifying that the ship can still be present and able to act yet this turn, but have a face-down destroyed marker on it, and be used to activate Rescue Operations.

I believe to find otherwise (that the destroyed ship has to be present in the sector and not yet removed from play) would limit Rescue Operations to use only in the following limited circumstance: a) The player controlling St. Laurent wins initiative and goes second; b) St. Laurent and another ship are in the same sector; c) the other ship is destroyed during the opponent's surface attack step occurring first. It could never be used with units destroyed by air attacks, sub attacks, movement, when you lose initiative and must go first, etc... That seems unusually harsh for an SA with such a high point cost (St. Laurent is not an 8 point ship otherwise).

So, boiled to a simple question: can Rescue Operations "be used in any sector where a friendly Ship was destroyed" at any point during the game?
_________________


"You like ships. You don't seem to be lookin' at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine's the nicest." ~ Firefly ~
PostSat Jul 30, 2016 12:58 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
firesdstny

 "Frozen Steel, Blazing Barrels"

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 23 Dec 2010
Likes received: 110

Posts: 26685
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I believe so yes.  It is one of those strange SA effects that requires some tracking to perform.

Another example is Straddle:
Straddle wrote:
Whenever this unit makes a Main Gunnery attack against an enemy Ship and that Ship takes no damage from the attack, this unit rolls one extra attack die when making its next Main Gunnery attack against that target.


The official clarification was that it does not have to target that ship with its next MG attack, but when it DOES target that ship again (could be 3 turns later) it gets one extra die.  

I think that's a poor interpretation of the intent of the SA - if you straddled the ship you adjusted your aim a bit, but you kept firing at it - not switch targets to something else and come back to it later. But that was the official word.  


I think this is the same idea.  You are giving up your attacks so you are not able to earn VP by destroying stuff.  And as you said if you were limited to only what happened this turn you would be limited to using it only if
  a) the ship in sector with you sinks in the Air phase, or

  b) you won initiative and you happen to be in sector with a ship your opponent destroys.  In this case you choose not to attack and pick up survivors instead.

I don't believe that is the intent of the SA.  It would've been nice if the SA text had included a recency phrase like "Once per game, instead of attacking during your Surface Attack step, this unit can perform a rescue mission if it's in a sector where a friendly Ship was destroyed during the last turn. Score 3 victory points at the end of the turn."  But it didn't.  

Without the turn limiting phrase, I think it can be used anytime during the game.
_________________


Light a man a fire and he will be warm for a night. áLight a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life!
PostSat Jul 30, 2016 1:29 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
LcdrSwizzle

_
 Club KM Uber Alles !

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub

Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Likes received: 345

Posts: 13698
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I agree that it can be used anytime, and that means having "sunk here" markers (?) to make it easier to use.
_________________
Gro▀admiral Swizzle

Browncoat by fandom; Cossack by blood; American by birth; Virginian/Husband/Father by wife; Libertarian by choice; Human by race; Christian by grace.
PostTue Sep 06, 2016 12:47 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mnnorthstars

 Keeper of the Leigh Light

MySingleNationClub
MyTheaterClub
MySpecialCauseClub

Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Likes received: 334

Posts: 12784
FLAGS




Post subject: Reply with quote   (Liked by:0)  Like this post
I think the intent of the SA was to allow picking up survivors at any time during the game.  Logically, those men in the water are just as important 30 minutes later as they are now.  You just pick them up when you can.


_________________
Capt. Strange wrote:
PostMon Oct 03, 2016 3:45 pm
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic



   Axis & Allies ForuMINI Forum Index » WAS General Discussion -> WAS Rules Clarification

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Editor's Choice
Forumini Generals
All AAM cards
All AAAF Cards
All War At Sea Cards
Forumini Admirals
A20 World Rankings
1. Jcmonson 1066
1. Bean965 1038
3. Vergilius 1024
WAS World Rankings
1. Admiral Wannabee 1240
2. mnnorthstars 1170
3. Azrael 1120
AAM World Rankings
1. Lil Snips 1096
2. Tripwire 1021
3. Kawolski 1010
Friends
Official WoTC site
Richard Baker's new Blog
Le Forum de A&ANM
Riverside Gaming
A&A Underground
Top posters
Brigman 42738
weedsrock2 36854
Flakstruk 35335
RAEVSKI 26750
firesdstny 26685
Asbestos 24554
SWO_Daddy 23223
Solomiranthius 19325
NeuralDream 18234
nrnstraswa 17161
herky80 16512
Lt_V 16301
jfkziegler 15353
Swished3 14762
carrion 14490
LcdrSwizzle 13698
packertim 13611
DaJudge 13360
mnnorthstars 12784
The_lucky_Y 12511
danaussie 12161
Shinnentai 11688
hokiepastor 10867


Forumini Newsletter
Issue #10 (Sep. 2013)
Issue #9 (Sep. 2012)
Issue #8 (Dec. 2011)
Issue #7 (Sep. 2011)
Issue #6 (Apr. 2011)
Issue #5 (Christmas 2010)
Issue #4 (Dec. 2010)
Issue #3 (Jul. 2010)
Issue #2 (Apr. 2010)
Issue #1 (Feb. 2010)


Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Theme by: :: Cosmic Distortion ::
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum